Q: How much does a hipster weigh?

A: An Instagram.

Lol, get it? 🙂

A free photo-sharing site, Instagram offers a variety of effects, called “filters,” that transform mobile photos, which can then be uploaded across multiple social platforms. Similar to Facebook, users interact with others through “Likes” and “Comments.”

Instagram’s “Like” and “Comment” features.

In terms of social photo sharing, Flickr was launched six years prior, in 2004. Yet, the reason Instagram surpassed 80 million users (versus Flickr’s 51 million) is due to its user-friendly interface. It allows amateur artists and even people who has never picked up a camera before to develop their creativity and experiment with the effects, thus becoming photo journalists.

Here are some different ways a user can manipulate an image on Instagram.

Anyone with a cell phone could easily register for an account and share photos. The result? Over 60 photos are being uploaded to Instagram every second. Its tiny company of 13 employees even caught the attention of Facebook, whose recent $1 Billion acquisition by made headlines.

Instagram is now worth $77 million per employee.

$77 million.

No wonder corporations use Instagram as a marketing tool.

Starbucks and Nike are two of the better known agencies in retail, fashion, and food services that use this app to build brand awareness.

It’s an ingenious way to subtly bombard consumers with advertisements, and they don’t even realize it. They further promote the brand (subconsciously) by adding pictures like this, broadcasting it to their followers as well:

An extremely common image on Instagram, very ‘hipster.’

On a psychological level, people will start to believe a company is more current and ahead of the curve if they’re keeping up with technological advances.

Not to mention it’s a great way to introduce new products.

Critics complain that people “spend so much time trying to capture and edit pictures that they don’t realize they’re missing out on the actual moment.” Furthermore, while 40% of the Interbrand 100 now have a profile, Instagram’s mobile focus turns away potential users who don’t have a smart phone.

Regardless, Instagram is, without a double, changing the way “photos are snapped and shared.”

6 thoughts on “Q: How much does a hipster weigh?

  1. agoron says:

    I really really liked this post. As a user of Instagram, I can see how companies endorse their products through Instagram. Often times, companies are being unofficially endorsed and promoted by users. Going to Starbucks for a pumpkin spice latte? People don’t think twice before posting a picture of the delicious creation, unofficially promoting Starbucks. I had no idea how much Instagram is worth per employee. That’s definitely and interesting fact. I know there are continuous updates for applications that redesign them and improve them, but do you think there will be a point where Instagram becomes unable to be further improved? Will it lose popularity and become just another thing that used to be (like so many other things before)?

  2. I really liked this post too. Lots of my friends are now using Instagram, but I just can’t seem to get into this craze. I just don’t see the need to use filters for photos, maybe because I have no artistic ability. Obviously people enjoy it, due to Facebook buying it for 1 billion dollars. I do feel that it is a good way to market a product and to get exposure, although it doesn’t really do anything for me personally.

  3. sofiatassano says:

    I also appreciate the joke! It made me lol in class #oops

  4. aperezse says:

    Yea I don’t really understand the Instagram craze either. I’ve also noticed that Instagram’s user base seems to be primarily girls. It’d be interesting to see a study conducted into how effective advertising with Instagram is for brands that appeal to girls more versus brands that appeal to guys.

  5. sofiatassano says:

    I’m having a terrible blogging week… I don’t know why my post on here just doesn’t show up – I thought my second attempt had worked but alas the only comment that appeared was the one about the joke…

    So here is my third attempt:

    I am the owner of a dumb phone, and I have never personally used Instagram. Many of my smart-phoned friends, however, absolutely love the tool. Instagram has given the average Joe the ability to turn any ordinary picture into an artsy image through the application of its many filters. The craze never attracted me too much though. My cynical side stubbornly maintains that a poor quality picture that has been Instagramed remains a poor quality photograph with now distorted colors.
    However, the tool is attractive and it is fun – I am not going to deny that I have asked a friend to Instagram a picture of my diner Lobster feast.

Comments are closed.

Voices from the End Zone

How Words are Carried in NFL Community

Global Disaster Awareness in the 21st Century Media

Exploring Digital Media During Global Disasters

Musical Media

The media can be an instrument too.

News From The Far East

New so far, yet so close

Political Frontiers

Investigating Impacts of Emerging Media on Politics

The Norm Changer

Social Media as a Tool for Social Change

Gravity(Reversed)

How Experts Have Pulled You to Their Fields.

The Social Joystick

Gamers Have Social Lives Too

Help Me Help You

How businesses and consumers interact through social media.

The SportNet Report

A Place Where Sports and Technology Combine

Sports in Cyberspace

Sports - Forever changed by digital media

Musically Modern

Musings on music tech

Life Would "B Flat"

Music and Technology As One

